Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Timeline of Major Events by President: Part 2

Era of Good Feelings and the Era of the Common Man, 1815-1840

5. James Monroe, 1817-1825
VP - Tompkins
Secretary of State - John Quincy Adams
Major Items:
Marshall's Decisions: McCulloch v. Maryland, 1819; Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 1819; Gibbons v. Ogden, 1824
Acquisition of Florida from Spain, 1819
Transcontinental or Adam-Oñis Treaty, 1819
Missouri Compromise, 1820
Monroe Doctrine, 1823
Sectional Tariff, 1824
Favorite Sons Election [Jackson, J. Q. Adams, Crawford, Clay], 1824

6. John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829
National Republican
VP - John C. Calhoun
Secretary of State - Henry Clay
Major Items:
"Corrupt Bargain"
Erie Canal, 1825
Tariff of Abominations
Calhoun's Exposition and Protest, 1828

7. Andrew Jackson, 1829-1837
VP - John C. Calhoun and Martin Van Buren
Major Items:
Jacksonian Democracy
Tariffs of 1832 and 1833
The 2nd Bank of the United States (due to expire in 1836)
Formation of the Whig Party, 1832

8. Martin Van Buren, 1837-1841
VP - Richard M. Johnson
Major Items:
Panic of 1837
Specie Circular, no Bank of the United States
Unsound financing by state governments

No comments:

Post a Comment